~
You're reading...
poems

October, October

I guess it’s never too late
To see things as they are
And to walk away
When reality finally sinks in

This has dragged on
Far too long and this
Has got me bleary-eyed, teary-eyed
Far too often than I’d admit

You seem to like keeping me around
Just for the sake of —
I don’t know
Heaven help me, I don’t really know

You’ll be gone faster than I
Could blink my eyes open
Against a butter-colored sunrise
And I’ll start consoling myself

Only to find you popping back in
The moment I think it’s over
And there’s nothing left to save
Except for myself and my sanity

But I guess it isn’t too late
To finally, really walk away
I’ll be gone before the next sunrise,
Before I have the time to change my mind

Maybe you’ll miss me,
Maybe thoughts of me will flutter
Around your pretty head, but
Most probably you wouldn’t care

And yes, it’s never too late
Too finally see things as they are
October sheds leaves and changes colors
I can do that, too. Finally. Maybe.

Oh, I should
I really should.

About Anna

A 30-something female awed/delighted/floored with anything horror. Known to kick-start her days with coffee. Indulges in chocolates, blogging, writing, and reading. Attracted to the offbeat and the quirky / the odd and the strange / the weird and the eerie.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Archives

