~
You're reading...
poems

Hunters and Foxes

Looking back at the past,
I made the choice
And jumped
Each one a different face
But pretty much the same under the skin
But I went headlong and enjoyed
The ride, anyway

It’s the only kind of romance I have ever known:
The short ones
And it’s sad to realize that now

I think I may have gotten you wrong
I think I may have overestimated myself
It was all so fitting yesterday, when my friend said,
“Now you know: not all the loud ones
Are the players and not all the quiet ones
Are to be trusted.”
And those lines hit me a little too hard
And I think I might have been a little too late

Glancing back at the other day,
I think I may have gotten you wrong
I think I may have judged a little too fast
And somewhere along the way,
I think I lost who I really wanted.

About Anna

A 30-something female awed/delighted/floored with anything horror. Known to kick-start her days with coffee. Indulges in chocolates, blogging, writing, and reading. Attracted to the offbeat and the quirky / the odd and the strange / the weird and the eerie.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Archives

