~
You're reading...
Uncategorized

Oddly Enough

Oddly enough, I am enamored
By books and quick wit,
I am charmed by
Intelligence and a good
Conversation

I’m not sure what I was
Looking for when we were
Both there: the sound of
Basketball thudding against
The scratched, shiny floor

I’m not sure I even knew
If I was looking for
Someone or something
You were just there
I was just there

Oddly enough, none of the
Things I wanted checked out
But you were there anyway
And I took your hand,
I took the bait

Looking back now I think
I didn’t know then just how
Broken I was until you
Stood there and we started
Talking and talking and more

Looking back now I see
I didn’t know just how
Broken I was until you
Put me down that day
Years ago

And then you let me down
Today again

Oddly enough, the same thing
That’s keeping me broken
Is the very same thing
That’s making me stronger
Alone.

About Anna

A 30-something female awed/delighted/floored with anything horror. Known to kick-start her days with coffee. Indulges in chocolates, blogging, writing, and reading. Attracted to the offbeat and the quirky / the odd and the strange / the weird and the eerie.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Archives

