~
You're reading...
poems

The Frantic Warning Bells Rung Their Alarms Inside My Head, All at Once

It is madness and mayhem here and
Equanimity is thrown out the window
I wait in the corner, teeth on my tongue

By night everything falls into place
All is right in the world again
And I am in love

In love with the stillness of one moment,
In love with the hushed quality of the air,
In love with the soporific coolness of
Tonight, just tonight

I don’t think I could ever learn
To don the crusty armor of self-preservation
Even if I wanted to, even if
Only for a day

Sometimes, warmth comes with a price
But it’s a price I can’t afford to
Let loose past my doorstep and out
Into the yawning void where
The good things simply disappear

My world runs in a vicious circle.

About Anna

A 30-something female awed/delighted/floored with anything horror. Known to kick-start her days with coffee. Indulges in chocolates, blogging, writing, and reading. Attracted to the offbeat and the quirky / the odd and the strange / the weird and the eerie.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Archives

