~
You're reading...
poems

This City Kind of Love

The stain from your coffee cup is still there,
Long after you have left
And I remember how sunlight poured in
Through the tiny kitchen window
I remember how it had cast a
Golden glow on the table
And on you

Now that place looks dull and bare
But the sunlight still casts that same
Golden glow

I am not a gamble you should bet on
I pack my bags and tiptoe my way out of
Your house and away from your life
When the weight on my shoulders anchors me down

I have scrubbed the table clean
And moved things around my home
So that memories are swept underfoot
And I won’t have so much to remember you by
I won’t think of you each time I see
The early morning sun or
Inhale the scent of burning logs

I am not a gamble you should bet on
I run away from the implicit expressions on your face
And at night I toss and turn and worry
About the littlest, suggestive things
I turn them over and over in my head

I have wiped my place clean from any traces
Of you, of you and I together
And it will be a long time before someone else
Unknowingly takes your place.

About Anna

A 30-something female awed/delighted/floored with anything horror. Known to kick-start her days with coffee. Indulges in chocolates, blogging, writing, and reading. Attracted to the offbeat and the quirky / the odd and the strange / the weird and the eerie.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Archives

