~
You're reading...
poems

The Vicious Circle of “Oh Honey”

I squint my eyes against the harsh sunlight
I always forget that during this time
The sun and the heat is the harshest
It’s like I never learn
Or at least, a part of me refuses to

What I have deemed as my most prized possessions
Seem so archaic at worst, peculiar at best
They left others with baffled astonishment
And even though I feel the need to justify
The odds and ends, I choose to bite my tongue

At the back of my head are whispered warnings
They never make sense; I’ve always like to believe
In the best of people I have exchanged smiles with
Only to find out in the end just how wrong I was
And it would have been funny if hurt was not involved

It’s not that I never learn
I just like to believe in what is good
But I am losing what I love
The longer I try to keep myself from straying
From this straight line laid out for me.

About Anna

A 30-something female awed/delighted/floored with anything horror. Known to kick-start her days with coffee. Indulges in chocolates, blogging, writing, and reading. Attracted to the offbeat and the quirky / the odd and the strange / the weird and the eerie.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Archives

