~
You're reading...
Uncategorized

Skyt + ish

It was his hemlock smile cloaked with pure intent
That gave him away but they
Welcomed him in their circles,
Sharing smiles and laughter, cigarettes and coffee

I wanted to shout “NO, don’t do that!”
But then they’ll see me as the insane one
And so I bite the inside of my cheek instead
And try to turn my head the other way

But the evil, HIS evil, drapes across the room
It slithers around until one by one by one
It touches every him and her, it coaxes them this and that
And I tremble in fear but keep my chin up

This is neither magic nor a trick
When his nights are spent with murmured words,
Black candles, jars and bottles filled with
Unspeakable things and dreadful parts

I know because he told me so
That one time he thought my head was filled
With nothing but daydreams and more daydreams
But that one time he got me wrong

This went on for months and months
And we drifted apart, much to my relief
But then I realized, everyone was turning
Against me. A whispered word, a skittish glance

His hemlock smile laced with pure intent,
He worked his insidious charm on everyone
It was too late to save someone
I should’ve shouted “NO!” when I had the chance

Now everyone latches on to his words,
Melts under his lopsided smile and
Begs him to look their way
But I stood my ground, shook my head

It was his hemlock smile cloaked with pure intent
That made them this way
And it frightens me to think that I
Have not got much time to run away.

About Anna

A 30-something female awed/delighted/floored with anything horror. Known to kick-start her days with coffee. Indulges in chocolates, blogging, writing, and reading. Attracted to the offbeat and the quirky / the odd and the strange / the weird and the eerie.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Archives

