~
You're reading...
rambling on

Can I Not Drink this Ginger Brew?

bench_polaroid

This small cup of now cold ginger brew does not taste better with each sip. But I need it. My throat needs it, to be exact. As I type this down, I am listening to this in 8tracks.com and if you ask me, it’s a surprise trip down memory lane. The good kind of surprise. It reminds me of first love gained, first love lost, of summers spent at our old home, of my old bedroom with the white brass bed. It was both shiny and tearful, that time when the 90s hit me and kept me close.

Hot damn. Is this a side effect of the ginger brew?

Right now, I am not feeling too well. I’m not even sure why I came to work… Oh, right. There are things to do, stuff I need to finish up before next week hits. I hate it when I am counted on and then I disappoint the other party. I’m sure some people will say that is not a good thing, being a people pleaser. Sometimes, I wish I could change that but it’s such a deeply inherent part of what makes up who I am as an individual that even when I try, I inevitably fail. And that is why more often than not, I become a convenient target for those who have their own personal problems but need someone to take it out on.

It’s canker sore on the side of my tongue and sore throat. This two-hit combo makes it difficult for me to eat and talk. It’s no fun and if you have the same condition as mine, let’s set up a Silent Slumber Party. We could opt not to talk (much), take comfort in hot chicken soup and hot tea with a bit of sugar and milk. And we’ll be watching “Sleepy Hollow” or something scarier. Because even if we wanted to scream at all the right scenes, we can’t. Instead, we’ll cover our eyes on the unbearable parts and clutch at each other when it gets too gory for our liking.

About Anna

A 30-something female awed/delighted/floored with anything horror. Known to kick-start her days with coffee. Indulges in chocolates, blogging, writing, and reading. Attracted to the offbeat and the quirky / the odd and the strange / the weird and the eerie.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Can I Not Drink this Ginger Brew?

  1. Aww. I just love this. When I’m under the weather, that’s exactly the kind of evening I wish for. I hope you get some version of it soon. (And that you heal quickly.)

    Posted by Renae Rude - The Paranormalist | March 5, 2014, 3:54 am

Leave a Reply

Archives

