~
You're reading...
rambling on

Just Getting By. Or Trying To, Anyway

It’s times like today that no amount of coffee and feel-good music can help me out. I am a swirling mass of… something and nothing.

That absolutely made no sense at all. And I’m not even trying to make sense of it. I’m just freefalling here, typing out words straight from the brain to the keyboard. Or rather, straight from the heart + soul to the keyboard. That seems more fitting at this time.

I was sitting there in my office chair, doing the tasks I normally do, when all of a sudden… Whoosh! All energy and glass-half-full attempts seemed to get sucked into this vortex that I had not anticipated. I feel defeated and down and it’s not okay. I know I need to shake this off because life goes on in spite of these problems and issues.

I remember a quote from a Stephen King book. It was delivered by the character called Dick Halloran in “The Shining.” He said:

“The world’s a hard place, Danny. It don’t care. It don’t hate you and me, but it don’t love us, either. Terrible things happen in the world, and they’re things no one can explain. Good people die in bad, painful ways and leave the folks that love them all alone. Sometimes it seems like it’s only the bad people who stay healthy and prosper. The world don’t love you, but your momma does and so do I.”

Everything there is true, last sentence included. This world is a tough place but we learn to tolerate it — the people, the mess we get into, the heartbreaks we encounter, the technology that seem to shape our culture in so many ways and levels, etc. — because of those who love us. When things get unbearable, there is always at least one person we run to just to get through those awful days and even more awful nights.

About Anna

A 30-something female awed/delighted/floored with anything horror. Known to kick-start her days with coffee. Indulges in chocolates, blogging, writing, and reading. Attracted to the offbeat and the quirky / the odd and the strange / the weird and the eerie.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Just Getting By. Or Trying To, Anyway

  1. It’s so rare to find a kindred spirit who takes solace in Stephen King šŸ™‚ This was lovely.

    Posted by Renae Rude - The Paranormalist | February 26, 2014, 2:32 am

Leave a Reply

Archives

