~
You're reading...
fiction, NaNoWrimo, rambling on

NaNoWriMo, I Am On You

2013-Participant-Facebook-Cover

Last year I bombed NaNoWriMo. I will not divulge the word count here to leave my dignity intact. This year, I decided to join with more determination, more coffee and more ideas.

I did an audit of my own self (yes, I did because I am so taking this seriously) and pinpointed where I went wrong. And this is the heart of the matter: I fell short on passion and dedication. In my head, there were all these interesting ideas I had for my story. The characters were there, just wanting their stories to be told. The setting was also firmly fixed. And while I still had to polish on the novel as a whole, I felt like I was on to something. And then I stopped going with my writing. Now I know better and here’s a quick list of what I need to do if I want to hit the 50,000 word count and get that flower power after pounding my head on that I-dare-defy-gravity box with the question mark. (I just referenced Super Mario there, the Family Computer version in mind. Hehe.)

  1. Write everyday. Don’t think too much. Don’t worry of how it will look in the end. Just write.
  2. Make use of prompts.
  3. You know your optimum time for writing is at night. Use that to your advantage.
  4. Actually set aside the time to write. You can’t  just not write because you’re too afraid you’ll write something crappy. Don’t let fear cripple your love and passion for writing.
  5. Jot down whatever ideas come rocketing past your head. You just never know what might come out of that later on.
  6. Find a place where you can write comfortably and with as little distraction as possible, because we both know that when your environment is noisy or crowded, your thoughts become one massive, frantic mess and before you know it, you’re turning to the internetz for memes and funny reads and basically achieve no writing done at the end of the day. Kapow!
  7. And lastly, drink more coffee.

I cannot stress how important item #7 is. What’s your NaNoWriMo plan for this year? 🙂

About Anna

A 30-something female awed/delighted/floored with anything horror. Known to kick-start her days with coffee. Indulges in chocolates, blogging, writing, and reading. Attracted to the offbeat and the quirky / the odd and the strange / the weird and the eerie.

Discussion

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: In need of coffee | Burgess Taylor - October 11, 2013

  2. Pingback: Long Time No See and Hear – Snow, Glass, Apple - October 16, 2013

Leave a Reply

Archives

